Portland Speaker Series

More events coming soon, check back in the Fall.

Past Speakers

  • Gabe Sheoships – May 2019
  • Randy Reeve – March 2019
  • Leslie Bach – December 2018
  • Matthew Johnson – September 2018
  • Daniel Newberry – May 2018
  • Esther Lev – December 2017
  • Rose Wallick – March 2017
  • Desiree Tullos – December 2016
  • Janine Castro – October 2016
  • Gordon Grant – May 2016
  • Matt Van Ess – March 2016
  • Mike Houck – November 2015
  • Celeste Searles Mazzacano – October 2015
  • Dan Bottom – June 2015
  • Bob Beschta – April 2015
  • Michael Pollock – December 2014
  • Laura Brophy – October 2014
  • Colin Thorne – June 2014
  • Bill Bradbury – April 2014
  • Stan Gregory – December 2013
  • Ken Bierly – October 2013
  • Janine Castro – October 2013

RRNW Portland Speaker Series May 15th: Gabe Sheoships, Education Director at Friends of Tryon Creek.  

Join us May 15th for the next installment of the Portland RRNW Speaker Series!

Speaker: Gabe Sheoships, Education Director at Friends of Tryon Creek.

Title:Shifting Ideas Around Restoration: Lamprey as an Indicator Species

Where: NW Lucky Lab  1945 NW Quimby St, Portland, OR 97209

When: Wednesday, May 15th, 5:30 pm Networking, 6:00 pm Presentation

Join Gabe Sheoships as he presents on his work with Lamprey and gives insight on how to improve restoration work regarding this ancient species.

Gabe is an Cayuse/Walla Walla tribal citizen (Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation), which has a rich history and contemporary presence in the Willamette Valley. As an Indigenous ecologist and educator, Gabe has spent 17 years promoting the protection, restoration, and enhancement of traditional First Foods, through traditional ecological knowledge, cultural teachings of science, and the inherent responsibility to the natural world.

As the education director for the Friends of Tryon Creeek, Gabe directs environmental programming towards the K-12, university, and professional levels traditionally marginalized groups, examining how science is utilized beyond the limits of western culture. Gabe spent 3 years studying the larval ecology of Pacific lamprey, also known as eels or K’suyas, in the Willamette River Basin, along with the understanding of the cultural value relating to the presence, harvest, and tradition of utilizing these fish in Western Oregon. Prior to these projects, Gabe worked with the Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission for 8 years. In addition to his work with CDE, Gabe volunteers his time as the DEI Committee Chair for the Oregon Chapter of the American Fisheries Society, and as a member of the Board of Directors for the non-profit organization, Freshwaters Illustrated. Gabe has an M.Sc. in Fisheries Biology from Oregon State University, along with a B.S. from Portland State University.

There is no charge for the event and you do not need to be an RRNW member to attend; however, we encourage you to join RRNW.  The current membership year is from February 9, 2019 through February 9, 2020, so don’t forget to renew your membership. By becoming a RRNW member you will receive a discount on registration fees for the annual River Restoration Symposium the first week in February and other benefits, connect to a network of restoration professionals, and help support future speaker events! Annual membership is only $50 ($25 students).

This event is made possible due to sponsorship from Stillwater Sciences.

If you are interested in sponsoring future Portland RRNW speaker series events, please contact Alex

 Follow us on Facebook and LinkedIn!